Australian Fire Service Medal





 Brigade Captain Donald George MACKRILL


Donald George MACKRILL became a member of the Temco Rural Fire Brigade in 1978 when he was elected Brigade Captain of the newly formed brigade.  He has remained Brigade Captain although the brigade has been re-named Bell Bay Country Fire Brigade.  Mr Mackrill’s dedication and strong leadership has developed the Bell Bay Brigade from a very basic volunteer brigade up to a standard where, in 1989, the brigade has been awarded the “Director’s Award” for the most efficient country fire brigade in Tasmania.


In addition to his duties and responsibilies as a volunteer Brigade Captain, he has been elected to fill executive positions on both State & National volunteer organisations.  He was elected President of the State Country Volunteer Fire Brigades’ Association in 1982 and has served continuously in that officer since that time.  He has been extremely active and it is through his leadership and dedication that the Association enjoys the respect it does with Parliamentarians, members of the State Fire Commission and with volunteers themselves.


He was elected National Secretary of the Australian Assembly of Volunteer Fire Brigades Associations in 1987 and he carried the major responsibility for the organisation and conduct of a National Conference held in Hobart in 1989.


Mr Mackrill has served on a number of State Fire Commission Working Parties and Committees.  He has always found time to meet these additional commitments and he has always provided valuable input.


 Mr Mackrill’s commitment and dedication to the Tasmania Fire Service is far in excess of what is considered reasonable for a volunteer officer.

His readiness to accept additional obligations such as training of other volunteers, attend meetings, participate in exercises and take part in other fire Service functions is such that he is highly regards by his fellow volunteer officers and firefighters.


It is believed Mr Mackrill more than adequately meets the criteria for the Award of the Australian Fire Service Medal.